Lithuanian theatre master Eimuntas Nekrošius directs Polish sacred Romantic drama Dziady (Forefathers’ Eve) by Polish-Lithuanian Adam Mickiewicz. The poetic drama is considered one of the greatest works of both Polish and European Romanticism, a supreme realization of Romantic ideas with imaginative metaphors and Polish folk customs, primeval rituals, spirituality, power of rite, sense of community, the tragedy of individual, and the national and existential aspects. Famous for his unique theatrical language, Nekrošius challenges the existing tradition of Dziady in Polish theatre. His highly acclaimed and multi-awarded production interrogates Polish martyrology, national myths, and obsessive belief in self-importance. The production was part of the 250th Jubilee Season of the Polish National Theatre. Surtitles are based on Charles S. Kraszewski’s translation (published by Glagoslav Publications, UK, 2016)

Director:  Eimuntas Nekrošius
Music: Paweł Szymański
Set design: Marius Nekrošius
Costume design: Nadežda Gultiajeva
Lighting design: Audrius Jankauskas
Dramaturgy: Rolandas Rastauskas

ONE DAY ONLY!

From May 27th 1 pm EST (NYC) / 7 pm CET (Warsaw) until May 28th 6 pm EST (NYC) / 12 am CET (Warsaw).

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE DIRECTOR AND THE PLAY:

This post was written by the author in their personal capacity.The opinions expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not reflect the view of The Theatre Times, their staff or collaborators.